• casselman-1
  • casselman-2
  • casselman-3

catalogue-en

account

events

Genealogical Resources

biblio15 .jpeg   Digital Genealogical Resources In The Library

Ancestry Library Edition
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of over 5 billion individuals. Includes census records, civil registries & documentation from Canada, the USA, Great-Britain as well as many other world countries.

Access: Use Inside the Library Only!

biblio15 .jpeg   Genealogical Internet Service

FamilySearch.org 
This is the LDS website, the best source of genealogical information on the Internet. It also has all the listings of books in the LDS library in Utah. Most of these sources can be ordered on microfilm through your local LDS Family Centre. The Canadian 1881 Census is listed on this site.

Rootsweb
Rootsweb is one of the oldest sources of genealogical information on the Internet and has all kinds of surname lists and locality lists where people make queries and get answers to their questions from other researchers.

Archives and National Library of Canada
the website for the Archives and National Library of Canada. Canadian Census material, military information, post office information, photographs – a wealth of tools for the researcher.

Archives of Ontario
the website for the Archives of Ontario. This website contains microfilm numbers for Ontario Vital Statistics. Many of the microfilm listings here can be borrowed through your local LDS centre or through your public library.

McGill Digital Library
an excellent source of county atlases from the 19th century. You can often locate an ancestor here by lot and concession if you know what township and county they were located in.

Our Roots
a project recording many of the local histories done in Canada. It also is searchable by keyword, a very useful tool.

Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid
The Ontario Cemetery Finding aid with millions of Ontario burials. Not all Ontario burials are listed here though so be aware.

GeneoFun
This site has the listings for the genweb sites for Ontario counties as well as links to other interesting information including the Ontario Genweb census page (www.rootsweb.com/~ongenpro/census) which is updated frequently with lists of transcribed Ontario county census information.

Early Canadiana
A website with some early Canadian literature which is searchable by keyword. Much of the information is free although some is fee based. The Library now has a full subscription to this wonderful history site with all kinds of early Canadian documents including 19th century journals, magazines and government documents. Full access is only available at your library branch.

JenForum
An excellent source for individual surnames. You can also post to your own surname board if you wish and get emails of other researchers.

Automated Genealogy
Transcriptions of the 1851, 1901, 1911 and 1916 Census of Canada.

Cyndi's List
Cyndi's list is one of the biggest sources of genealogical information (general and specific) on the Internet. She updates it often. This is the Ontario page but there are pages for other Canadian provinces and places.

Ontario and Canadian Genealogy
A good starting point for Ontario and Canadian genealogy.

Ontario Genealogical Society
The Ontario Genealogical Society's web page with links to other provincial genealogical societies.

www.angelfire.com/space/kingstonroots
A great site for those interested in the history of Kingston and Frontenac County.

Bytown or Bust
Bytown or Bust – a good source of information on Ottawa area settlers.

Rideau Lakes Info
Ken Watson's site has information on genealogy and local history with lots of good local links.

Olive Tree Genealogy
Lots of free databases, ship passenger lists and other information on Canadian genealogy. Check this one out!

Genuki.org.uk
This website is a good starting point for genealogical research of Scotland, England and Ireland.

Paper of Record
another extremely useful site. However, many Canadian newspapers are searchable here by keyword. Alberta has many of its newspapers free on the Internet but they are not searchable by keyword.

Location

764 Brebeuf St, Casselman, ON
KOA 1M0
Get Directions

Contact

Tel: (613) 764-5505
llafleche@casselman.ca

All rights reserved Casselman Public Library Copyright © 2013 • Site Design & Development Elevate

Disclaimer: Please note that links used to access other websites are provided for reference purposes only. The Library and Webmaster 
do not hold responsibility and/or approval for any contents or mention there of the above-mentioned web sites.

For more information, please refer to the terms of agreement.